State Human Rights Commissions set up in 19 States: Govt.

July 28th, 2010 - 9:25 pm ICT by ANI  

New Delhi, July 28 (ANI): Minister of State for Home Affairs Ajay Maken on Wednesday informed in the Rajya Sabha that State Human Rights Commission have been set up in 19 States of the country.

The Government of India and National Human Rights Commission

are keen that every State sets up a State Human Rights Commission (SHRC).

Maken stated in a written reply to a question in the Rajya Sabha that the Government and NHRC have been requesting to all those States which have not yet constituted their State Commission to do so at the earliest.

The 19 States where the State Human Rights Commission have been constituted are Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Sikkim.

He also mentioned that the State Human Rights Commission have not been constituted in the following States:

Arunachal Pradesh 2. Haryana 3. Goa 4. Jharkhand 5. Meghalaya 6. Mizoram 7. Nagaland 8. Tripura 9. Uttrakhand. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |