Srikkanth likely to replace Vengsarkar as BCCI chief selector

September 26th, 2008 - 9:46 pm ICT by ANI  

New Delhi, Sept 26 (ANI): Krishnamachari Srikkanth, the former Indian skipper, is likely to replace Dilip Vengsarkar as the new chairman of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selection committee.
The formal announcement will be made at the BCCI’’s Annual General Meeting in Mumbai on Saturday.
The other members of the BCCI selection committee who are likely to replace the existing team are Narender Hirwani (Central), Yashpal Sharma (North), Surinder Bhave (West) and Raja Venkat (East).
The discussions to finalise the new selection panel are being held ahead of the BCCI’’s two-day annual general body meeting starting on Saturday, when it will also elect its new set of office-bearers.
The officials will also consider an annual compensation package of Rs 25 lakh for the selectors, and an additional criterion of a 10-year gap from the time a cricketer retires.
The new selectors should also have played for India, or more than 25 first-class matches.
If these eligibility rules are endorsed, especially the dual-post criteria, the current five-member selection panel will have to be replaced.
Vengsarkar is a vice-president of the Mumbai Cricket Association, Venkatapathy Raju is a vice-president of the Hyderabad Cricket Association, Sanjay Jagdale is secretary of the Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association, and Ranjib Biswal heads the Orissa Cricket Association. Bhupinder Singh, the fifth member, does not represent an association but has completed his term.
Meanwhile, as decided at the last AGM, Shashank Manohar, a prominent lawyer who heads the Vidarbha Cricket Association, will succeed Sharad Pawar as the BCCI president.
N Srinivasan, the BCCI’’s treasurer, is now Pawar’’s candidate for the post of secretary while MP Pandove, the previous joint secretary, will take over as treasurer.
Lalit Modi, who heads the Indian Premier League (IPL) and Champions League, will remain a vice-president and Sanjay Jagdale, the selector will be accommodated as a joint secretary.
Pawar, who has remained in control after unseating Jagmohan Dalmiya in 2005, has moved to the International Cricket Council (ICC) as its vice-president. He will take over from David Morgan, the ICC president, in 2010. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |