Speaker Chatterjee accepts resignation of TRS MPs’

March 5th, 2008 - 5:40 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, Mar 5 (ANI): Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee has accepted the resignation of four Telengana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) MPs with effect from Monday.
“I have accepted the resignations with effect from Monday (March 3),” Chatterjee said during Wednesday’s session.
TRS supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao and three of his colleagues - Vinod Kumar, Ravindra Naik and T Madhusudan Reddy had resigned from the Lok Sabha over separate Telangana Start issue on Monday.
They had submitted their resignation to the Speaker on the same day.
Chandrashekhar has alleged that their demand has not been fulfilled, although consensus has emerged.
The people of Telangana have been betrayed, he said.
Leader of the Opposition L.K. Advani had also said that there should be a debate on the issue of carving a separate state of Telangana in Andhra Pradesh.
Earlier, Advani had said that the BJP is ready to extend its support for a separate state as it believes that new states can be carved out of the bigger states in order to speed up development.
The TRS, contested state assembly polls in 2004 in alliance with the Congress, which they feel has betrayed the promise to grant separate statehood to Telangana region, comprising 10 districts of Andhra Pradesh, including Hyderabad. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |