SP, RLD, BJP leaders join BSP in UP

March 4th, 2009 - 7:28 pm ICT by ANI  

Bahujan Samaj Party

Lucknow, Mar. 4 (ANI): Ahead of the Lok Sabha polls, some sitting MLAs and MLCs of Samajwadi Party, Rashtriya Lok Dal and BJP have resigned from the state assembly and council to join the Bahujan Samaj Party. SP MLAs Gauri Shanker from Malihabad and Dhani Ram Verma from Auraiya, RLD MLA Kadir Rana from Morana and BJP MLA Rajiv Trehan alias Rajiv Channa from Moradabad (west) resigned from the house and their parties. On Wednesday, the MLAs submitted their resignation to Assembly Speaker Sukhdeo Rajbhar, which was accepted. After joining the BSP, the SP members accused that the party had joined hands with communal forces. However, the resigning BJP leaders alleged the party of singing Ayodhya issue only at the time of elections. Members of Legislative Council who resigned from the House included BJP MLC Ghanshyam, Ganesh Shanker Pandey of SP and Surendra Singh Nagar of RLD. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |