SP defeats BSP in Bhadohi assembly bypoll

March 1st, 2009 - 5:42 pm ICT by ANI  

Bahujan Samaj Party

Bhadohi, Mar 1 (ANI): In the Bhadohi assembly constituency, Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate Madhubala Pasi on Sunday defeated her rival, Amar Singh Saroj of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) by 5365 votes.

Pasi got 60,351 votes against Sarojs 54,986 votes.

BJP candidate Deendayal Sonkar got 14,258 votes while Congress candidate Suresh Gautam got only 2275 votes.

The bypoll was held on February 26, in which 44 percent voters cast their votes.

The bypoll was conducted in the wake of the death of sitting BSP leader Archana Saroj, who died on October 6 following a prolonged illness. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , ,

Posted in National |