Shivraj, Raman Singh to be sworn in as CMs today

December 12th, 2008 - 11:18 am ICT by ANI  

Bhopal, Dec 12 (ANI): Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Raman Singh will be sworn-in as the Chief Ministers of Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh respectively today.
Madhya Pradesh Governor Dr. Balram Jakhar will administer oath of office to Chouhan at the Jamboori Maidan.
The ceremony will be attended by BJP President Rajnath Singh, senior leader L K Advani, former President M Venkaiah Naidu, General Secretary in-charge of the state Anant Kumar and senior party leader and Rajya Sabha MP Sushma Swaraj.
Chouhan is scheduled to take oath of office for the second time. This is for the first time that any non-Congress government has come to power for the second successive term in the history of Madhya Pradesh.
Star campaigners, including Navjot Singh Sidhu, Shatrughan Sinha, Hema Malini and Smriti Irani are also expected to present during the occasion.
Chouhan is also scheduled to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Raman Singh.
The ruling BJP led by Chouhan retained power in Madhya Pradesh as the BJP bagged 144 seats while the Congress managed to win 70 seats with 16 seats going to others.
The BJP also retained its grip over Chhattisgarh securing a comfortable majority with 50 seats in the elections to the 90-member state assembly, pushing main rival Congress with 38 seats to a distant second spot. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |