Sheila Dikshit sworn in as Delhi CM

December 17th, 2008 - 4:12 pm ICT by ANI  

Bharatiya Janata Party

New Delhi, De 17 (ANI): Sheila Dikshit was sworn-in as Chief Minister of Delhi for the third consecutive term.
Dikshit, 71, was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Delhi Lt Governor Tejinder Khanna at the Raj Niwas in the presence of politicians, including BJP Legislature Party leader V K Malhotra and state party chief Harshavardhan.
Ministers in the previous Cabinet A K Walia, Mangat Ram Singhal, Haroon Yusuf, Rajkumar Chauhan and Arvinder Singh Lovely along with the new face Kiran Walia also took oath.
Dikshit led the party to victory for the third consecutive term. The Congress won 42 seats in the 70-member Delhi Assembly while the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had to be content with 23 seats.
Dikshit, who is the Chief Minister of Delhi since 1998, was sworn-in as the Chief Minister for a second consecutive term on December 15, 2003. She represents New Delhi Constituency in the Legislative Assembly.
As Chief Minister of Delhi, Dikshit was selected the Best Chief Minister of India, by Journalist Association of India on July 12 . (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |