Sheila Dikshit elected CLP leader

December 10th, 2008 - 5:25 pm ICT by ANI  

Sonia Gandhi

New Delhi, Dec 10 (ANI): Sheila Dikshit was elected as the leader of Congress Legislature Party (CLP) here today.
Dikshit, leading the party to a third consecutive victory in the national capital, was elected at a meeting of all the newly elected 42 party MLAs.
The meeting was attended by AICC General Secretary Mohsina Kidwai, Minister of State for Finance P K Bansal and DPCC chief Jai Prakash Aggarwal.
At the meeting, a resolution supported by all the MLAs was placed which left the choice of the CLP leader to party chief Sonia Gandhi.
The Congress won 42 seats in the 70-member Delhi Assembly while the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had to be content with 23 seats. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |