Second phase of polling in Karnataka ends

May 16th, 2008 - 8:41 pm ICT by admin  

Mangalore/ Bangalore, May 16 (ANI): Karnataka on Friday witnessed second phase of elections in 66 constituencies for the 224 -member State Assembly, amidst tight security.

Voters from ten districts of Raichur, Koppal, Uttara Kannada, Bellary, Chitradurga Davanagere, Shimoga, Udupi, Chikmagalur and Dakshina Kannada participated in the election.

To ensure peaceful elections at 12,271 polling stations, over 56,000 security personnel were deployed. Police gave shoot -at -sight orders to counter any disruptive activity. Around 16,000 paramilitary force personnel, including 500-strong anti-naxal force were also present to prevent any mishappening.

Around 11 million voters cast their verdict to decide the fate of 589 candidates, including Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s Chief Ministerial candidate B S Yeddyurappa.

Congress and BJP are the main contenders in many constituencies.

The shape of the Government in Karnataka hinges on the results of two constituencies of Shikaripura and Bellary. Shikaripura, which is Yeddyurappas constituency, can be a deciding factor.

In Shikaripura, the contest is between Bangarappa and Yeddyurappa. They have been at the same post in the past, although, Yeddyurappa was
in power for a week only. There will be tough competition between the two.

The third phase of elections will be held on May 22. Counting of votes will take place on May 25.

66 per cent voter turnout was registered in 89 assembly seats in the first phase of elections on May 10.

The assembly elections in Karnataka are crucial in wake of parliamentary elections in 2009. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |