Rahul, Varun Gandhi take oath as LS members

June 2nd, 2009 - 4:23 pm ICT by ANI  

Rahul Gandhi New Delhi, June 2 (ANI): Congress General Secretary Rahul Gandhi and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Varun Gandhi took oath as the members of the 15th Lok Sabha on Tuesday.

Acknowledging greetings from opposition ranks, Rahul shook hands with Leader of Opposition L K Advani. He also greeted former Uttar Pradesh Chief Ministers Mulayam Singh Yadav and Kalyan Singh.

Among other prominent members, who took oath were Mulayam Singh Yadav, Kalyan Singh, BJP president Rajnath Singh, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) chief Ajit Singh, former Union Ministers T R Baalu and Maneka Gandhi.

Maneka Gandhi took oath in English, while her son Varun in Hindi.

Former cricket skipper and Congress candidate Mohammad Azharuddin also took oath.

Film stars-turned-politicians who took oath were Samajwadi Party’s Jayaprada and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam’s K Sivakumar (Riteesh).

All nine MPs of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) took oath in the name of god, while all from the DMK solemnly affirmed their oath. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |