Prof. Seshadri to be conferred Rathindra Puraskar from Visva Bharrati

November 21st, 2008 - 10:15 pm ICT by ANI  

Manmohan Singh

Chennai, Nov 21 (ANI/Business Wire India): Professor C. S. Seshadri, director of the Chennai Mathematical Institute (CMI) will receive the “Rathindra Puraskar” from Visva Bharati University for his outstanding contribution in the field of Physical Science.

Prof. Seshadri will receive the award from Prime Minster Dr. Manmohan Singh at Santiniketan’’s Visva-Bharati University, during their Annual Convocation on December 6. He will receive the award along with a prize valued at Rs. 25,000.

The Rathindra Puraskar is given every year in memory of the Late Rathindranath Tagore (the eldest son of Gurudeva Rabindranath Tagore) in accordance with the appropriate selection committee. The Visva-Bharati University, founded by the Late Rabindranath Tagore, has invited Dr. Amartya Sen to be the chief guest of the convocation, during which 3500 students will receive their degrees and certificates.

Prof. Seshadri will receive the award alongside stalwarts like the former Bhutan king Jigme Sigme Wangchuk, economist Dr. Amlan Dutta, eminent historian Irfan Habib, theatre personality Habib Tanweer, and others.

Prof. Seshadri who specializes in algebraic geometry and algebraic groups is a fellow of the Royal Society, UK. He has also been a member of National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) (September 1986-August 1992), Council of the Indian National Science Academy (1993-94), Executive Committee, International Mathematical Union (IMU) (January 1987-December 1990) and is presently the Director of the Chennai Mathematical Institute.

The Chennai Mathematical Institute (CMI), a recognized University by the Central Government, is a centre of excellence for teaching and research in mathematical sciences. Established in the year 1989, CMI offers Under-graduate and post-graduate courses in mathematics, physics and computer science.

Prof. Seshadri has been the recipient of many prestigious awards in the past, including:

– Srinivasa Ramanujam Medal of Indian National Science Academy in 1985

– Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in 1972

– Srinivasa Ramanujan Birth Centenary Award (1995-96) of Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA)

– G M Modi Science Award in 1995

– Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Medal in 1995

– National Research Professorship of the Ministry of Human Resource Development Government of India in 2006 and many more. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |