President presents Padma awards

March 31st, 2009 - 7:25 pm ICT by ANI  

Akshay Kumar New Delhi, Mar 31 (ANI): Bollywood actors Akshay Kumar and Aishwarya Rai Bachchan and Atomic Energy Commission of India (AECI) chief Anil Kakodkar were among the recipients of the Padma awards from President Pratibha Patil on Tuesday.

Aishwarya Rai, a former Miss World and now a member of the Bachchan family, received a Padma Shree award for her contribution to the field of entertainment.

Akshay Kumar, a globally acclaimed actor, also received a Padma Shree.

Kakodkar received the Padma Vibhushan award for 2008 for his contribution to the field of nuclear science and technology.

Sister Nirmala, who served for 12 years as the Superior-General of the Kolkata-based Missionaries of Charity, received the Padma Vibhushan.

Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) Director Ashok Ganguly was also awarded the Padma Vibhushan.

Sixteen people were awarded Padma Bhushan, including renowned classical singer Shamshad Begum and Tech Czar Sam Pitroda.

Forty-five people were given Padma Shree awards, for their contribution in various spheres of activity, including the arts, education, industry, literature, science, sports, social and public life.

Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh and a host of other dignitaries attended the function. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |