Polling for Inner Manipur seat begins

April 22nd, 2009 - 11:42 am ICT by ANI  

Bharatiya Janata Party Imphal, apr 22 (ANI): Polling for the Inner Manipur (valley districts) Lok Sabha seat constituency began today amidst tight security.

The polling will decide the fate of seven candidates. The main contest is between M Nara of the Communist Party of India (CPI), Th Chaoba of the Manipur People’s Party and Th Meinya of the Congress.

Other candidates are W Nipamacha of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), A Rahaman (Independent), Nongmaithem Homendro (Independent) and lone woman candidate L Khetrani of the Bahujan Congress Party.

A total of 8.25 lakh voters are expected to cast their votes.

Around 970 polling booths have been spread across the valley districts of Imphal East, Imphal West, Thoubal and Bishenpur.Manipur has two Lok Sabha seat.

Polling for the Outer Manipur seat was held on April 16 during the first phase of polling. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |