Padma awards announced

January 26th, 2008 - 4:43 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, Jan 26 (ANI): The President of India has conferred Padma Awards to eminent persons. 13 personalities are selected for the Padma Vibhushan award, 35 persons named for Padma Bhushan award and 71 persons selected for Padma Shri award.
Padma Vibhushan, which is the second highest civilian honour of India, is given for exceptional and distinguished service in any field including service rendered by the government servants. The recipients of the award are noted playback singer Asha Bhosle in the field of Art, Justice A S Anand, P N Dhar and Union Minister Pranab Mukherjee in the field of Public Affairs.
Delhi Metro Chief Dr. E Sreedharan and Nobel Prize winner and noted environmentalist Dr. Rajendra Kumar Pachauri have been awarded for their achievements in the field of Science and Engineering.
Master batsman Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar , chess wizard Viswanathan Anand and Everest mountaineer Late Edmund Hillary got the awards in the field of Sports.
Steel tycoon Lakshmi Narayan Mittal, Infosys mentor N R Narayana Murthy, Hotelier P R S Cberoi, and Ratan Naval Tata in the field of Trade and Industry.
The Padma Bhushan is a third highest Indian civilian award. It is awarded to recognize distinguished service of a high order to the nation, in any field. This year it has been awarded to classical musicians Ustad Asad Ali Khan, P Susheela and Ustad Rahim Fahimuddin Dagar, Prof. Sushil Kumar Saxena and Late Amarnath Sehgal have been awarded for their achievements in the field of Art.
Chandrashekhar Dasgupta and K Padmanabhiah and V. Ramachandran have been awarded in the field of Civil services, and Jasdev Singh , the noted commentator for his work in the field of Broadcasting, Dr. Shayama Chona , the noted Delhi educationist has been awarded for her work in the field of Literature and Education, Lord Meghnad Desai in the field of Public Affairs, Dr. Vasant Gowarikar in the field of Science and Engineering, Baba Neelkanth Kalyani in the field of Trade and Industry.
Padma Shri is an award given by the Government of India generally to Indian citizens to recognise their distinguished contribution in various spheres of activity including the Arts, Education, Industry, Literature, Science, Sports, Social and public life.
The following persons are given this award Pandit Gokulotsavji Maharaj, famous actress Madhuri Dixit, Hollywood film maker Manoj Night Shyamalam in the field of Art, Barkha Dutt, Rajdeep Dilip Sardesai, Vinod Dua in the field of Journalism. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |