Newly nominated CA members sworn in

July 7th, 2008 - 11:44 pm ICT by ANI  

Kathmandu, July 7 (ANI): Newly elected members of the Nepal Constituent Assembly (CA) took the oath of secrecy and office amidst a ceremony at the International Convention Center on Monday.

Nineteen members among the total 26 CA members nominated by the Council of Ministers were sworn in by CA chairman Kul Bahadur Gurung.

CA Chairman Kul Bahadur Gurung administered the oath to the CA members.

According to parliamentary secretariat Manohar Prasad Bhattarai, the CA members who were not present in the ceremony will be sworn in this afternoon.

According to Kantipur, Industrialist Padma Jyoti, Chandra Lal Meche, Dabal Bahadur Shah of Communist Party of Nepal-Maoist (CPN- M), Bishwanath Upadhaya and Jagat Bahadur Tajpuriya of Nepali Congress (NC), Terai-Madhes Loktantrik Party (TMDP)s Mahanta Thakur and Jagya bahadur Shahi of NWPP were not present at the ceremony.

Six representatives of the CPN-M, three of NC, five of Communist Party of Nepal-Unified Marxist-Leninist (CPN-UML), two of MPRF and one each of Peoples Front Nepal (PFN), Nepal Sadbhawana Party-Anadidevi and CPN-ML were sworn in today.

Nine political parties had recommended 26 names for the CA seats, among which Maoist had nine seats, NC and UML had five each, MPRF two seats and TMDP, PFN, CPN (ML), NWPP and NSP (A) had one seats each. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |