Newly elected members take oath in Parliament

June 2nd, 2009 - 6:12 pm ICT by ANI  

Rahul Gandhi New Delhi, June 2 (ANI): The Lok Sabha was adjourned for the day on Tuesday after the completion of oath-taking ceremony of the newly elected members.

The House will meet on Wednesday for the election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker.

Senior Congress leader Meira Kumar filed her nomination for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker.

Earlier in the day, Congress General Secretary Rahul Gandhi and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Varun Gandhi took oath as the members of the 15th Lok Sabha.

Among other prominent members, who took oath were Mulayam Singh Yadav, Kalyan Singh, BJP president Rajnath Singh, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) chief Ajit Singh, former Union Ministers T R Baalu and Maneka Gandhi.

Former cricket skipper and Congress candidate Mohammad Azharuddin also took oath.

Film stars-turned-politicians who took oath were Samajwadi Party’s Jayaprada and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam’s K Sivakumar (Riteesh).

All nine MPs of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) took oath in the name of god, while all from the DMK solemnly affirmed their oath.

President Pratibha Patil will address the joint parliamentary session of both Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha on June 4, which would chart out the road map of the second term of the Manmohan Singh Government.

After the President’s address, the House would discuss and pass the motion of thanks to the President.

Lok Sabha will have seven sittings while the Rajya Sabha would commence its session from June 4.

The session would conclude on June 9. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |