New Pakistan parliament convenes

March 17th, 2008 - 4:49 pm ICT by admin  

Benazir Bhutto

Islamabad, Mar 17 (ANI): The new Parliament in Pakistan was convened on Monday, with 328 members of the National Assembly taking oath.

The Speaker of the outgoing National Assembly, Ameer Hussain Chaudhry, administered oath to the parliamentarians.

After the oath-taking ceremony condolence was offered to former premier Benazir Bhutto, who was assassinated on December 27 last year.

The parties - Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Pakistan Muslim League - Nawaz (PML-N), and the Awami National Party (ANP) - are set to lead the new coalition government.

The PPP had said that its top priority would be to seek a UN probe into the assassination of Benazir.

The coalition also hopes to amend the Constitution to strip Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf of his powers to dissolve the country’s Parliament and to dismiss the Prime Minister.

The National Security Council, which gives the military a formal say in policy matters, may also be axed.

The coalition’s most explosive plan is expected to be the restoration of some 60 superior court judges, including deposed Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry who were sacked by Musharraf when he declared emergency rule on November 3, 2007. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |