New Congress Working Committee announced

March 4th, 2011 - 5:40 pm ICT by ANI  

Sonia Gandhi New Delhi, Mar 4 (ANI): Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Friday constituted a new Congress Working Committee (CWC), retaining key functionaries like Rahul Gandhi and Digvijay Singh. While Law Minister M Veerappa Moily has been relieved of his charge of Andhra Pradesh, Digvijay Singh retains the charge of Uttar Pradesh and Assam and Rahul Gandhi, the portfolio of youth and student wings.In a major promotion, former spokesperson Mohan Prakash has been given charge of the key states of Maharashtra, Gujarat and Jammu and Kashmir.

Motilal Vohra remains party treasurer, Ahmed Patel is chief political secretary, while Oscar Fernandes has been promoted to CWC and made a general secretary.

Those, who are selected as permanent invitees are P Chidambaram, Arjun Singh, Mohsina Kidwai, Dr Karan Singh, ML Fotedar, RK Dhawan, SC Jamir, Shivaji Rao Deshmukh, Beni Prasad Verma, MV Rajshekharan, Ajit Jogi, Shakeel Ahmed, Jagdish Tytler, Jagmeet Singh Brar, Luizinho Falero, Mohan Prakash, Gulchain Singh Charak.

Those dropped included Maharashtra Chief Minister Prithvi Raj Chavan and Vilasrao Deshmukh.

The thousand-odd members of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) constitute the Electoral College for the CWC polls.

Of the entire CWC, there is a provision for election of 12 and nomination of 11. The Congress President and the parliamentary party leader of the party are always members of the CWC with the party chief heading the key body.

There has been no contest for the CWC since Gandhi took over the reins of the organisation in April 1998. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |