Nepal’s Constituent Assembly members sworn-in

May 28th, 2008 - 10:40 am ICT by admin  

Kathmandu, May 28 (ANI): Members of the Constituent Assembly (CA) were sworn-in at a ceremony at the Birendra International Convention Centre (BICC), which will house the 601-member Assembly.
According to Nepalnews, a total of 568 CA members including Nepali Congress (NC) President and Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala, Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist) Chairman Prachanda, Communist Party of Nepal-United Marxist Leninist (CPN-UML) General Secretary Jhalanath Khanal, Speaker of the interim legislative-parliament Subash Chandra Nemwang and Madhesi People’s Rights Forum Chairman Upendra Yadav were took the oath.
As the eldest CA member Kul Bahadur Gurung, 73, took the first oath of office and secrecy and administered the oath of office to other members at the ceremony.
26 CA members are yet to be nominated by the cabinet, five persons had won double seats while the CA Court has barred two winners, UML’s Bisam Lal Adhikari and Madhesi Janadhikar Forum’s Sarat Singh Bhandari, from taking oath as the writ petitions accusing of them of irregularities in the election are yet to be decided.
CA member from Rautahat district, Babban Singh, who is sought by the police on a number of criminal cases, was invited to attend the ceremony but he did not turn up. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |