Nepali Congress parliamentary committee meeting underway

April 30th, 2008 - 10:24 pm ICT by admin  

Kathmandu, Apr 30 (ANI): As the deadline for submitting the names of the representatives for the Proportional Representation (PR) nears, Nepali Congress (NC) parliamentary committee meeting to finalise the list of the nominees for Constituent Assembly (CA) is underway at the Prime Ministers official residence at Baluwatar here on Wednesday.

According to Kantipur, despite extensive talks, the committee was unable to finalise the list of the nominees and the partys central committee (CC) meeting has been deferred for tomorrow.

The final name list will be submitted to the Election Commission (EC) after the partys CC sanctions the parliamentary committees recommendations.

The partys parliamentary committee consists of PM Girija Prasad Koirala, who is also the NC president, senior leader Sher Bahadur Deuba, acting president Sushil Koirala, partys vice presidents and other leaders.

NC won 73 seats under PR system but was able to secure only 37 seats under First- Past the-Post system.
The EC has set the deadline for the submission of official closed list of PR candidates for Friday. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |