Nepal Election Commission completes counting of votes

April 24th, 2008 - 7:54 pm ICT by admin  

Kathmandu, Apr 24 (ANI): The Nepal Election Commission has completed the counting of votes under the proportional representation electoral system.

According to Kantipur, the CPN-Maoist, has secured 29.28 per cent (3,144,204 votes) out of the total 10,739,099 votes counted so far.

Nepali Congress and CPN-UML have bagged 21.14 and 20.33 per cent (2,269,893 and 2,183,370) respectively, whereas the Madhesi People’s Rights Forum and Tarai-Madhes Democratic Party have secured 6.32 per cent and 3.16 percent (678,327 and 338,93) of the vote respectively.

The EC allocates 335 Constituent Assembly seats under the PR system through the modified Sainte Lague method, depending on the number of votes received.

Under this system, the Maoists received a maximum of 100 seats whereas the NC and UML bag 73 and 70 seats respectively. Similarly, MPRF receives 22, TMDP gets 11 and RPP and CPN-ML 8 seats each.

Dalit Janajati Party, Samajbadi Prajatantrik Janata Party, Chure Bhavar Ekta Samaj, NLSD and Nepal Pariwar Dal, which have received more than 23,512 votes, would receive a seat each under the PR system. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |