National Mineral Awards 2007 to be given to 17 geoscientists

February 12th, 2009 - 5:42 pm ICT by ANI  

New Delhi, Feb 12 (ANI): Seventeen eminent geoscientists and mining technologists have been selected for the National Mineral Awards 2007.
The awards will be conferred them by Sis Ram Ola, the Union Minister of Mines tomorrow.
Nominations for the awards are invited every year. The shortlisting of candidates is done by a multi-layered selection procedure.
The final selection of the awardees is done by an Award Making Authority, chaired by the Secretary, Ministry of Mines.
The National Mineral Award scheme of Ministry of Mines aims at promoting all around excellence in geo-science in the country.
This scheme was instituted by the Ministry of Mines in 1966 and the awards are given annually.
There are 19 awards carrying an award money of Rs. 1 lakh each with a trophy, certificate and citation.
Besides these, there is one Award of Excellence given to an individual for lifetime contributions in geosciences carrying an award money of Rs. 3 lakhs. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |