National Conference undecided about Srinagar Lok Sabha candidate

April 13th, 2009 - 8:54 pm ICT by ANI  

Srinagar, Apr 13 (ANI): National Conference on Monday suggested its President Farooq Abdullah and Srinagar Municipal Corporation Chairman Salman Sagar for the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat.

Talking to reporters here, Farooq Abdullah said that the final decision on who would contest the Srinagar seat rests on Chief Minister Omar Abdullah.

Claiming that his active role in politics helps him in keeping young and fit, Abdullah said, “My life will end fighting elections.”

Farooq Abdullah had contested from two assembly constituencies in last assembly elections. He had later contested the Rajya Sabha polls from the state.

Abdullah also named candidates for the Baramulla Lok Sabha seat and two assembly seats of Sonawar and Hazratbal.

He informed that Sharief-ud-Din Shariq would be the NC candidate for the Baramulla Lok Sahba seat, where Ghulam Nabi Shaheen, is the sitting party MP.

Dr Mustafa Kamal, he said, would contest by-polls for the Hazratbal assembly seat and Muhammad Yasin Shah would be the NC candidate for the Sonawar assembly seat by-elections. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |