Meghalaya CM inducts 5 more ministers

March 20th, 2008 - 9:33 pm ICT by admin  

Shillong, Mar 20 (ANI): Meghalaya Chief Minister Donkupar Roy on Thursday inducted five more ministers into the cabinet giving berth to all coalition partners of newly formed Meghalaya Progressive Alliance (MPA).

The five ministers Hopingstone Lyngdoh (Meghalaya People’s Democratic Party), E C Bamon and Timothy D Shira (both of Nationalist Congress Party) J A Lyngdoh (United Democratic Party), and Nimerson Momin (UDP) were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor S S Sidhu at Raj Bhavan this afternoon.

NCP leader P A Sangma said the portfolios of the ministers would be allotted later.

Seven others, including Roy, were sworn on Wednesday evening, hours after the Congress-led D D Lapang Ministry resigned ahead of a trust vote in the State Assembly.

Roy was chosen as the chief ministerial candidate despite the MPA having three former chief ministers E K Mawlong, P A Sangma and J D Rymbai (Congressman UDP leader) in its fold.

Sangma will replace Roy after two-and-a-half years. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |