Lalu Prasad files nomination papers from Patliputra

April 17th, 2009 - 5:10 pm ICT by ANI  

Patna, Apr 17 (ANI): Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief and Union Railway Minister Lalu Prasad on Friday filed his nomination for the newly-formed Patliputra parliamentary constituency.

Prasad is contesting the polls from two constituencies. The second one is the Saran parliamentary constituency, where polling took place in the first phase of the general elections on Thursday.

Prasad submitted his papers to returning officer J. K. Sinha.

His biggest challenge for the seat is Janata Dal- United (JD-U) leader Ranjan Prasad Yadav. Yadav had left the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) last month and joined JD (U).

The Congress has fielded a former RJD MP, Vijay Singh Yadav.

Patliputra will go to polls on May 7.

Prasad currently represents Chapra parliamentary constituency. This constituency has been named Saran after delimitation.

In 2004, Lalu Prasad had won the Chapra parliamentary seat, defeating BJP’s spokesman Rajiv Pratap Rudy. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |