Kiran Reddy elected Speaker of Andhra Pradesh Assembly

June 4th, 2009 - 6:40 pm ICT by ANI  

Hyderabad, June 4 (ANI): Senior Congress legislator N Kiran Kumar Reddy was on Thursday unanimously elected as Speaker of the 13th Andhra Pradesh Assembly.

Reddy’s name was proposed by state Chief Minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy, Prajarajyam Chief Chiranjeevi, Agriculture Minister N Raghuveera Reddy, AIMIM floor leader Akbaruddin Owaisi and two other independents.

Governor Narayan Dutt Tiwari will address the joint session of the Assembly and Council tomorrow, The legislature will then debate the motion of thanks to the Governor’s address.

The first session of the newly elected Assembly will continue till June 12. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |