Kerala polls : CPI (M) reverses decision, fields Achuthanandan from Malampuzha

March 18th, 2011 - 5:25 pm ICT by ANI  

Thiruvananthapuram, Mar 18 (ANI): The Communist Party of India (Marxist), which was under massive public pressure over its decision to drop Chief Minister VS Achuthanandan from contesting the April 13 Kerala Assembly polls, on Friday reversed its decision and declared that the 87-year-old warhorse will contest from his Malampuzha seat in Palakkad District.

The CPI (M), which announced the list of its candidates this afternoon, revoked its decision in the wake of widespread protests within the party and the general public over the issue.

CPI (M) State Secretary Pinarayi Vijayan announced Achuthanandan’s name as a candidate for the upcoming election at a press conference here.

Achuthanandan, who is one of the most prolific leaders of Kerala Politics, also made a dramatic come back to the electoral battle field in 2006 thwarting the moves of the rival faction led by Viajayan, which initially managed to keep him off the fray.

During the assembly elections held in Kerala in April-May 2006, Achuthanandan defeated Satheesan Pacheeni of the United Democratic Front by a margin of 20,017 votes in Malampuzha constituency in Palakkad district.

The other prominent leaders, who figure in the CPI (M) list include Kodiyeri Balakrishnan (Thalassery), Thomas Isaac(Alappzua), Elamaram Kareem (Beypore),M A Baby (Kunduara), P K Gurudasan (Kollam), S Sarma (Vaypeen), A K Balan (Tharoor), G Sudhakaran (Amalpauuzha) and K Radharishnan (Chelakkara). (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |