Karnataka High Court upholds suspension of disqualified MLAs

February 14th, 2011 - 6:37 pm ICT by ANI  

New Delhi, Feb 14 (ANI): The Karnataka High Court on Monday upheld the suspension of five independent MLAs, who had challenged Assembly Speaker K G Bopaiah’s order disqualifying them under the Anti-Defection Law.

Earlier on February 1, a full bench, comprising Justices A S Bopanna, Mohan Shantanagoudar and S Abdul Nazeer, reserved its orders after concluding hearing from both the parties.

The five MLAs P M Narendraswamy, Shivaraj S Thangadagi, Venkataramanappa, D Sudhakar and Gulihatti D Shekhar were disqualified along with eleven BJP MLAs after they withdrew their support to B S Yeddyurappa government.

The 16 MLAs were disqualified on the basis of a complaint filed by Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa on October 7. The disqualifications came on the eve of the BJP government seeking a trust vote.

The High Court had upheld the disqualification of the eleven BJP MLAs and their appeal challenging the order is pending before the Supreme Court. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |