Karnataka crisis: High Court to decide rebel MLAs fate today

October 12th, 2010 - 11:57 am ICT by ANI  

Bangalore, Oct 12 (ANI): The Karnataka High Court is expected to decide on the disqualification of 16 rebel MLAs today.

They were disqualified hours before the controversial trust vote won by the BS Yeddyurappa government in the Assembly on Monday.

A division bench comprising Chief Justice J S Kehar and Justice N Kumar will hear the two petitions filed by disqualified MLAs. They are claiming that their disqualification amounts to abuse of power by Speaker KG Bopaih.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa is taking the battle to save his 28-month government to Delhi. He along with all the party MLAs, MPs and MLCs are on their way to New Delhi to protest against Governor HR Bhardwaj’s role in the entire episode.

The Governor had on October 10 written to the Speaker, asking him to conduct the trust vote on October 11 on the basis of the party positions as on October 6 - with the BJP at 116, the Congress at 73, the JD (S) at 28, Independents at six and the Speaker.

After the trust vote on Monday, Bhardwaj, had, in a report to the Centre, described the vote as “a farce” and recommended the President’s rule.

Earlier, a one line motion moved by Yeddyurappa was passed, even as the House witnessed unprecedented scenes with the opposition Congress and the JD(S) refusing to accept the outcome. Before the trust vote, the Speaker disqualified 16 rebel MLAs, including 11 from BJP under the provision of the anti defection law.

In his order, Bopaiah said these MLAs have been disqualified under the provision of the anti-defection law as envisaged in the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution.Those BJP MLAs, who were disqualified are: Balachandra Jarkiholi, Belur Gopala Krishna, Anand Asnotikar, Dr Sarvabowma Bagali, V Nagaraju, Raje Kage, Y Sampangi, Nanjundaswamy, S K Bellubbi, H S Shankara Lingegowda and Shivanagouda Naik.Former Ministers Venkataramanappa, Shivaraj Tangadagi, Goolihatti Sekhar and M P Narendraswamy and independent MLAs were also disqualified.

The disqualification of the MLAs had brought down the strength of the 224-member Assembly to 208. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |