JD(U) lawmakers resign in protest over MNS attacks on North Indians

November 7th, 2008 - 8:15 pm ICT by ANI  

Raj Thackeray

New Delhi, Nov.7 (ANI): Five parliamentarians of Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal-United party from Bihar have resigned from Lok Sabha as a mark of protest against attacks by hooligans of Raj Thackeray’’s Maharashtra Navanirmana Sena (MNS) on people of north Indian origin in Mumbai and Nashik.
This was announced by the aggrieved MPs in New Delhi today.
“We have resigned from Lok Sabha today as we condemn the UPA Government’’s policy of not taking any action against the guilty. North Indians,especially from Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, are killed by MNS people, but instead of stopping them, it seems the Central Government and the Vilasrao Deshmukh Government are supporting them,” claimed Prabhunath Singh.
The JD (U), which is heading the Government in Bihar, had announced last week that its MPs from Lok Sabha would resign after the Chhath Puja, which concluded on Wednesday.
The party has demanded action against Raj Thackeray, a judicial enquiry into the violence against North Indians in the last two years in Maharashtra and a CBI probe into the killing of two North Indian youngsters. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |