JD(S) issues whip to all legislators not to support the BJP

November 19th, 2007 - 2:05 pm ICT by admin  

Bangalore, Nov 19 (ANI): Just hours before the B.S.Yeddyurappa led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) governments floor test in the Karnataka Assembly, its coalition partner, the Janata Dal (Secular) (JD-S) has issued a whip to vote against the BJP Government during the trust vote.
The decision was taken during the JD-S legislature party meeting this morning.
JD-S chief supremo H D Deve Gowda directed all legislators to vote against Yeddyurappa.
The BJP needs at least 113 votes to form a government. If the JD (S) votes against Yeddyurappa, he will fall short of majority by 34 votes. If all legislators vote in favour of Yeddyurappa, then he will have the support of 129 legislators in the House.
According to sources, the decision was opposed by many legislators. However, the BJP is still confident about proving its majority.
The JD-S had authorised both Deve Gowda and his son Kumaraswamy to take a final decision in this regard.
The move was reportedly taken after talks between Yeddyurappa and former Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy over the 12-point MoU collapsed on Sunday.
The JD (S) demands include the post of Deputy Chief Minister to the JD (S) nominee, and portfolios of ministries in consultation with Kumaraswamy.
Further, the JD (S) has demanded portfolios of Mines and Geology and Urban Development, which have been rejected by Yeddyurappa.
He has also rejected JD (S) demand for non-induction of former minister and BJP leader B Sriramulu, who had filed a criminal complaint in August against Kumarswamy, into the Ministry.
Eighteen Ministers belonging to the coalition partner JD (S), including the deputy Chief Minister, are likely to take oath after the government wins a vote of confidence.
Yeddyurappa was sworn-in as Chief Minister of Karnataka on November 12, becoming the first BJP leader to head a government in south India.
Karnataka was placed under President’s rule on October 9 and the state legislature was suspended after BJP and JD (S), which headed the coalition government, locked horns over power swap for the Chief Minister’s post for the next 20 months.
The JD (S) made an about turn on transfer of power agreement, but a fortnight later patched up with the BJP, which staked claim to form the government on October 27.
The Union Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs took the decision to revoke President’s rule in the state earlier this month. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |