Jaswant Singh, Sushma Swaraj win, Maneka Gandhi loses

May 16th, 2009 - 6:17 pm ICT by ANI  

Bharatiya Janata Party New Delhi, May 16 (ANI): Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders Jaswant Singh and Sushma Swaraj have won the Darjeeling and Vidisha parliamentary seats respectively, while another saffron party leader Maneka Gandhi lost the Aonla seat by 22,000 votes.

Congress leaders Priya Dutt and Sachin Pilot have won their respective seats in Mumbai North-Central and Ajmer.

In the mean time, Congress leader Renuka Gandhi has lost the Khammam seat.

Senior Congress leader Kamal Nath has won the Chhindwara parliamentary seat, while National Conference patron and former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah won Srinagar seat.

In Tirupati, Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) chief and Telugu superstar Chiranjeevi has won, while former UN undersecretary general and Congress leader Shashi Tharoor won the Thiruvanathapuram seat by 95,000 votes..

Senior Janata Dal- Secular (JD-S) leader H. D. Devegowda has retained the Hassan Lok Sabha seat, while Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Akhilesh Yadav won the Kannauj seat by 1.11 lakh votes.

Independent candidate and former Jharkhand chief minister Madhu Koda has won the Singhbhum Lok Sabha seat. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |