Jammu & Kashmir Government announces 17 State awards

January 26th, 2009 - 7:18 pm ICT by ANI  

Jammu, Jan 26, (ANI): Jammu and Kashmir government has announced 17 state awards for contribution in the fields of literature, art, journalism, sports and public services on the occasion of Republic Day.
Historian Fida Mohammad Khan Hussain and Dogri writer Ved Kumari Ghar will get the award for lifetime achievement.
The awards for contribution in journalism will go to Sumir Kaul (PTI), Masood Hussain (The Economic Times), Nazir Masoodi (NDTV) and The Daily Excelsior Photo journalist Ashok Sodhi.
Professor Lalit Magotra and Sadiq Ali Sadiq have been selected for literature in Dogri and Balti languages respectively.
Radio artist Pran Kishre, Kashmiri singer Raj Begum and Ghulam Mohammad (Dogri) are the other award winners.
Mitali (gymnastics), Gul Mustfa Dev (skiing), Ram Singh Slathia (mountaineering) and Ajay Sharma would be honoured for their contribution in the field of sports.
The State government will also grant for Gallantry to 59 police personnel for their exemplary acts of bravery while maintaining law and order. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |