Indian cricket team departs for Sri Lankan tour

July 15th, 2008 - 6:36 pm ICT by ANI  

Harbhajan Singh

Chennai, July 15 (ANI): Indian cricket team departed for Sri Lanka on Tuesday for the three match test series commencing from July 23.

Although Skipper Anil Kumble has expressed confidence about his team’’s winning performance, India have a daunting task in the tests having won only one of the four series they have played in Sri Lanka since 1985. Their previous trip in 2001 ended in a 2-1 defeat.

Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh returns after serving a five-match ban for slapping compatriot Shanthakumaran Sreesanth at a domestic Twenty20 league game in May.

Selectors have named a 16-member test squad on Tuesday in which one-day squad skipper and test vice-captain Dhoni does not find mention. A fatigued Dhoni had indicated in Karachi recently that he would like to take a break from the sport after a very hectic cricket season.

The sixteen member team comprises of Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, V.V.S. Laxman, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Zaheer Khan, R.P. Singh, Munaf Patel, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Pragyan Ojha and Parthiv Patel.

The test team will begin their tour of the island nation with a three-day game against the Sri Lankan Board XI starting on Friday.

The tests will be played in Colombo (July 23-27), Galle (July 31-Aug 4) and Colombo (Aug 8-12).

The tests will be followed by a five-match one-day series. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |