Hindraf leaders” remain under Internal Security Act

February 12th, 2009 - 2:01 pm ICT by ANI  

Putrajaya, Feb 12 (ANI): Five Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) leaders will remain under Internal Security Act (ISA) detention as the Federal Court has dismissed a motion to review an earlier apex court decision denying their release under a habeas corpus application. The five Hindraf leaders are M. Manoharan, P. Uthayakumar, V. Ganabatirau, R. Kengadharan and K. Vasantha Kumar.
A three-man panel led by Federal Court judge Justice Nik Hashim Nik Ab. Rahman ruled the case was not fit for a review. On May 14, 2008, the apex court had held that the detention of the five Hindraf leaders was lawful. At the outset of court proceedings, Senior Federal Counsel Abd Wahab Mohamad argued that there was no unjust decision against the five and that the judges had applied the correct law and facts when making their ruling, the Star reported. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |