Govt’s approves Armed Forces Tribunal members’ appointment

June 22nd, 2009 - 11:34 pm ICT by ANI  

Pratibha Patil New Delhi, June 22 (ANI): The Government has given its go ahead to the appointment of eight judicial and 15 administrative members in the Armed Forces Tribunal for a period of four years to dispense cost effective and speedy justice to the armed forces personnel.

The appointments have been made for the principal and various regional benches of the tribunal.

The appointed members will serve for a period of four years or till the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier and will be in the pay bracket of Rs 26,000 as per the Fifth Pay Commission.

The judicial members of the tribunal include serving Justices Janardan Sahai, Manak Lall Mohta and Bhanwaroo Khan.

The tribunal has five retired Justices including A C Arumugaperumal Adityan, Anwar Ahmad, K Padmanabhan Nair, Shailendra Shanker and Ghanshyam Prasad.

All the 15 administrative members in the tribunal are retired officers from the armed forces including 13 from the Army and two from the Navy.

About 9,000 cases, currently pending in various High courts across the country, will be transferred to the tribunal.

President Pratibha Patil is expected to inaugurate the tribunal August end this year. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |