Google in Kashmiri Language

February 29th, 2008 - 8:49 pm ICT by admin  

Srinagar, Feb 29 (ANI): World’s largest Internet Company, Google, has initiated an active web page (http/ for the students and scholars of Kashmiri language across the world making it easier for them to access information on the web.

Students and teachers of the Kashmir University are elated by the development as it has paved the way for creation of database of Kashmiri language.

The compiled data in Kashmiri language will also help to generate employment opportunities for IT professionals.

“Not merely students and researchers of Kashmiri language but others related to various sectors in the State will also be benefited from this web page. The biggest advantage will be the generation of employment,” said Shafi Shauq, Head Of Department of Kashmiri language at the university.

He added that this web page would also be beneficial for students and scholars studying Kashmir literature across the globe.

“Students will be able to comprehend and understand better in Kashmiri language. The main thing in Kashmiri language is the script. The entire material that is available in the universe of knowledge could be translated into Kashmiri. There cannot be anything bigger than this,” said Riyaz Rufayi, Chief Librarian of the Kashmir University.

Google has simplified the search tool by entering a virtual keyboard and transliteration tool, which transforms the typing words phonetically in English Script into other languages chosen by the users according to their mother tongue. Many vowel and consonant combination has been provided for typing on the virtual keyboard.

Google translation is a service provided by Google Inc. to translate a section of text, or a web page, into another language.

Google last year launched its search engines in Hindi, Nepali, Sinhala along with 12 regional languages so that regional surfers, who are not proficient in English can search and browse Internet in their mother tongue.

Google currently offers 117 interface languages that includes 10 Indian languages namely Bengali, Bihari, Hindi, Gujrati, Kanada, Malyalam, Marathi, Punjabi, Urdu and Telugu. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |