Fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections witnesses 57 % polling

May 7th, 2009 - 8:50 pm ICT by ANI  

New Delhi, May 7 (ANI): The fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections held for 85 constituencies spread across seven States witnessed 57 per cent voting of the total 9.46 crore eligible votes here on Wednesday.

According to the Election Commission, the tentative percentage of votes in the fourth phase of elections witnessed in Bihar (37%), West Bengal ( around 75 % till evening), Haryana( 63 %), Jammu and Kashmir(24%), Punjab(65 %), Uttar Pradesh (around 50 %) and Delhi (50 %).

“The fourth phase of elections, however, also witnessed an incident involving bomb throwing at one place in Murshidabad, EVM (Electronic Voting Machine) snatching in Howrah, and forcible voting. However, particularly, in Jammu and Kashmir the polling remained absolutely peaceful. The J & K witnessed 24 % voting today. It was 18.7% in 2004,” said R. Balakrishan, the Deputy Election Commissioner.

Meanwhile, polling was held at 129,000 booths for this phase of election. A total of 1,315 candidates, including 119 women, were in fray in the fourth phase of the five-phased elections.

Polling for all 25 seats in Rajasthan, 10 in Haryana and seven in Delhi was completed in one-go.

Prominent among the candidates were BJP President Rajnath Singh contesting from the Ghaziabad Lok Sabha constituency, Congress’ Pranab Mukherjee from Jangipura,

Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav from Mainpuri (Uttar Pradesh) and Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad from Saran and Pataliputra (Bihar).

The other prominent candidates included National Conference’s Farooq Abdullah (Srinagar), Congress’ Kapil Sibal (Chandni Chowk), Sachin Pilot (Ajmer), Shekar Suman (Patna Saheb), BJP’s Shatrugan Sinha (Patna Saheb) and HJC’s Bhajan Lal (Hisar).

Meanwhile, the first, second and third phases of polling were held on April 16, 23 and 30 respectively.

The polling was held amid tight security.

The counting of votes will take place on May 16. The 543-member House will be constituted before June 2. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |