First session of Delhi’’s new Legislative Assembly begins

December 18th, 2008 - 12:15 pm ICT by ANI  

Bharatiya Janata Party

New Delhi, Dec 18 (ANI): The first session of the Delhi’’s new Legislative Assembly will begin here today.
Pro-term Speaker Jagdish Mukhi will administer the oath of membership to Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, including other elected members of the Assembly.
The election of Speaker will be held on December 19.
Lieutenant Governor Tejinder Khanna will deliver his address on December 22. On the last day of session on December 23, a Motion of Thanks for Lieutenant Governor’’s address will be moved in the House.
On Wednesday, Sheila Dikshit was sworn-in as Chief Minister of Delhi for the third consecutive term.
Ministers in the previous Cabinet A K Walia, Mangat Ram Singhal, Haroon Yusuf, Rajkumar Chauhan and Arvinder Singh Lovely along with the new face Kiran Walia also took oath.
Dikshit led the party to victory for the third consecutive term. The Congress won 42 seats in the 70-member Delhi Assembly while the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had to be content with 23 seats. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |