Election Commission to hold all party meeting in Bangalore

May 7th, 2008 - 12:43 pm ICT by admin  

Bangalore, May 7 (ANI): The Election Commission (EC) will meet leaders of all political parties here on Wednesday to make a final assessment of the arrangements for the first phase of the Karnataka Assembly polls slated for May 10.
The EC will review poll arrangements in 89 assembly segments of eleven districts.
Top police officials and election observers of Bellary, Chitradurga, Raichur, Koppal and Davanagere Districts, which face the second phase of polling on May 16, have been summoned to Bangalore for discussions.
Chief Election Commissioner N. Gopalaswami and Election Commissioners Naveen Chawla and S.Y. Qureishi arrived here on Tuesday on a two-day visit. The trio will leave for Mangalore this evening to review poll preparations in Udupi, Dakshina Kannada, Chikmagalur, Shimoga and Uttar Kannda Districts, where elections are scheduled for May 22. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |