Election Commission appoints new Gujarat police chief

November 14th, 2007 - 2:27 am ICT by admin  
Kaushik ’s appointment was made after the ECI on Monday ordered the transfer of DGP P C Pande, ahead of the State Assembly elections, which is scheduled to be held in December.

Pande was Ahmedabad Police Commissioner during the 2002 post-Godhra riots. He had come under a cloud over the 2002 communal violence. The 1970-batch IPS officer is said to be close to Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi.

Seven other senior officials - Ahmedabad Police Commissioner J Mahapatra, Deputy Inspector General of Police (Border Range) I M Desai, Superintendent of Police (Patan) J N Rajgor, SP (Rajkot) N D Solanki, SP (Tapi) S K Gadhavi, Collector of Valsad D H Brahmbhatt and Collector of Gandhinagar Sonal Mishra were also transferred.

The EC had directed that none of the eight would be posted at any place where there was any election-related work.

The electoral process for the 12th State Assembly will begin from November 15, and state electorate will cast their votes on December 11 and December 16.

Counting of votes for the 182-member State Assembly will take place on December 23.

The Bharatiya Janata Party managed to win 127 seats, while the Congress party was able to win only 51 seats in the 2002 assembly polls.

The Janata Dal (United) and independents won two seats each. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |