EC to meet President Patil on Monday to submit list of new MPs

May 17th, 2009 - 12:46 pm ICT by ANI  

Pratibha Patil New Delhi, May 17 (ANI): A three-member Election Commission (EC) team headed by Navin Chawla will formally submit the list of newly-elected Lok Sabha members to President Pratibha Patil on Monday.

The new House is constituted by the Election Commission, which does that job within two to three days after the results are declared.

A Rashtrapati Bhavan official said the three-member commission would call President Patil at 6 p.m. on Monday.

President Patil will make the customary address to the first and brief joint session of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, marking the beginning of the new House.

During the first two days of the Constitution of new Lok Sabha, the newly-elected members would be administered oath of office by a pro-tem Speaker who would be the senior most among the MPs followed by election of the Speaker. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |