DMK ministers to resign from Union Cabinet tomorrow

March 6th, 2011 - 7:16 pm ICT by ANI  

Manmohan Singh Chennai, Mar 6(ANI): Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) leader T.R. Baalu on Sunday said that his party’s ministers in the Union Cabinet would submit their resignations to Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh tomorrow.

“Our ministers will go to Delhi to submit their resignation tomorrow,” Baalu said.

It comes after the DMK decided to pull out of the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government at the Centre after talks between the two parties on seat-sharing for the Tamil Nadu assembly elections failed.

The DMK currently has six ministers in the Union Cabinet, including Chemical and Fertilizers Minister M.K. Alagiri and Textiles Minister Dayanidhi Maran.

The decision to pull out of the UPA government was taken at a DMK leadership meeting chaired by party president and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi, and attended by senior leaders including Deputy Chief Minister M.K. Stalin held in Chennai on Saturday.

The party would, however, continue to provide ‘issue-based support’ to the Central government.

A DMK statement had said that the Congress demand for 63 seats even after the DMK expressed its readiness to concede 60 showed it was not keen on having it as an ally.

“Hence we have decided to pull out,” the statement had said. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |