DMK announces list of 21 candidates for elections

April 5th, 2009 - 11:21 pm ICT by ANI  

Chennai, Apr 5 (ANI): Dravida Munnettra Kazhagam (DMK) chief and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi on Sunday announced the names of candidates for 21 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu for upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Party has decided to field Karunanidhi’s elder son M. K. Azhagiri and grand nephew Dayanidhi Maran from the Madurai and the Central Madras constituency respectively.

Union Ministers T. R. Baalu, A. Raja and S. S. Palanimanickam have also been named in the list.

The elevation of Azhagiri, who was recently acquitted in a case relating to the murder of former DMK minister Ta Kiruttinan, comes in the wake of his appointment as party’s south zone organising secretary following the party’s thumping win in the Tirumangalam by-elections early this year.

While Baalu has shifted from South Madras to neighbouring Sriperumbudur, Raja will contest the polls from Nilgiris as his Perambalur constituency has been de-reserved following the delimitation process. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |