Curfew relaxed in Kashmir Valley

August 30th, 2008 - 3:05 pm ICT by ANI  

Amarnath Shrine

Srinagar, Aug 30 (ANI): Curfew was relaxed in several parts of the Kashmir Valley on Saturday as normal life remained paralysed in response to the continuing shutdown over the Amarnath land transfer issue.
The curfew had been imposed for 14 hours in Kulgam district and for three hours in Budgam district. It was also clamped in Kulgam and Khudwani towns and eight other districts of the Valley, including Srinagar, Anantnag, Pulwama, Baramulla, Kupwara, Bandipora, Ganderbal and Shopian. In Srinagar, curfew was relaxed in areas falling under 28 police stations of the city for two hours from 11:00 a.m.
Barring areas falling under the five police stations of Khanyar, Rainwari, Nowhatta, M R Gunj and Safakadal, curfew was relaxed from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Meanwhile, the talks between the Shri Amarnath Yatra Sangharsh Samiti (SAYSS) and the panel appointed by the Jammu and Kashmir Governor N.N. Vohra, which is headed by SS Bloeria, is being held here today.
On Friday, the fourth round of talks was deferred in view of Bloeria’’s indisposition. The talks are being held to resolve the Amarnath forest land transfer issue.
The SAYSS has said that it has submitted written demands to the panel and is expecting a “favourable” response.
The group had earlier held three rounds of talks with the panel earlier this month.
The talks have remained inconclusive and according to sources, a five-point agenda had been set for the talks, including the reconstitution of the Amarnath Shrine Board, and clarifying its role and duties.
It also includes an assessment of the total requirement of land by the Shrine Board and working out an arrangement for the use of 100 acres of land at Baltal-Domail by the SASB during the period of yatra.
The Governor’’s panel includes Vice Chancellor of Jammu University Professor Amitabh Mattoo, former judge of Jammu and Kashmir High Court Justice (Retd) G D Sharma and Principal Secretary to Governor and Chief Executive Officer of Sri Amarnath Shrine Board B B Vyas.
The Samiti’’s committee consists of Tilak Raj Sharma, Brigadier (Retd) Suchet Singh, Narinder Singh and Pawan Kohli. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |