Cricket Australia drops traditional tri series, announces cricket schedule

May 20th, 2008 - 2:39 pm ICT by admin  

Melbourne, May 20 (ANI): Cricket Australia has released its international schedule for the 2008-09 season with Australia to play three Tests against South Africa and two against New Zealand.
Australia will play the Black Caps in Tests in Brisbane (starting November 20) and Adelaide (Nov 28-Dec 2). They will then take on South Africa in Perth (Dec 12-16), Melbourne (Dec 26-30) with an extra day of recovery before the Sydney match (Jan 3-7).
Ricky Ponting’s side will play five one-day matches against the Kiwis and five against the Proteas.
The two head-to-head series will replace the old triangular series, which will not be played for the first time in 30 summers.
Cricket Australia has scheduled three international Twenty20 matches - two against South Africa and one against New Zealand.
Cricket Australia is expected to release its domestic schedule in the coming weeks.
Australia will also host next year’s Women’s World Cup, in NSW and the ACT in March. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |