CPI-M’s Tarigami wins again

December 28th, 2008 - 7:37 pm ICT by IANS  

Srinagar, Dec 28 (IANS) Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) leader Muhammad Yusuf Rather (Tarigami) Sunday retained his seat in the Jammu and Kashmir assembly, narrowly winning from Kulgam in south Kashmir.Tarigami’s victory came despite fierce opposition from supporters of hardline separatist leader Syed Ali Geelani who were determined to defeat the veteran Marxist.

But Tarigami proved his mettle despite being pitted against two powerful candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the National Conference.

Said Tarigami: “My victory is the victory of secular forces against hardliners.” The CPI-M had two seats in the dissolved assembly, but it won only one seat this time.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |