Counting of votes for five state assemblies begins

December 8th, 2008 - 11:20 am ICT by ANI  

New Delhi, Dec 8 (ANI): The counting of votes in the assembly polls in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram and Delhi began this morning.

According to initial reports, Congress is leading in Delhi and Rajasthan while BJP is ahead in Madhya Pradesh.

The final results are expected to be out by the evening.

The fate of several stalwarts like Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Bharatiya Janashakti chief Uma Bharti and senior BJP Minister Babulal Gaur will be decided in Madhya Pradesh which witnessed a 60 per cent turnout during elections to the 230-member Assembly.

The Rajasthan poll outcome will be a test for Chief Minister Vasudhanra Raje governments performance in the state. AICC general secretary Ashok Gehlot and PCC president C P Joshi are also testing their political fate.

The voters turn out in Rajasthan was good with 65 to 68 per cent polling being reported for 200 assembly seats.

A total of 2,194 candidates, including 149 women, were in the fray.

While in Chhattisgarh, Chief Minister Raman Singh looks to defend his chair. The current ruling party, Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP), which managed an easy victory in 2003 elections with 50 seats looks to increase its margin of victory in the 90 seater state assembly.

In Mizoram, the main struggle for political supremacy is between the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) and the main opposition Congress party while the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) may play a crucial role in forming the new ministry if the two contender parties fail to secure the magic number of 21 in the 40-member house.

There are 206 candidates, including nine women aspirants, in the fray across the state.

In the national capital, the result will decide whether the Sheila Dikshit-led Congress Government will be allowed to serve a record third term or not.

Delhi recorded a good voter turn out of over 60 per cent. Polling was held on 69 out of 70 Assembly seats.

The fate of 863 candidates, including 352 independent candidates, will be decided in the national capital, which went to poll on November 29. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |