Counting for Himachal Pradesh Assembly polls tomorrow

December 27th, 2007 - 1:28 pm ICT by admin  

Bahujan Samaj Party
Shimla, Dec 28 (ANI): Counting of votes for the two-phased Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections will take place tomorrow.
The results will decide the fate of contestants, including those from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Congress, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).
The final phase of polling was held on December 19. Around 67 percent of electorate exercised their franchise in the 65 constituencies.
In Kangra district, 65 per cent of electorate voted for 16 seats that are said to be crucial for both the Congress and the BJP. During 2003 Assembly polls, the Congress won 11 out of 16.
Jubalkhote Assembly Constituency registered highest turnout of 72.88 percent and the lowest was recorded in the state capital (55.42 percent).
In Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh’s Rohru constituency, about 65 per cent of voters cast their votes.
Some of the major candidates who contested elections were Vijay Singh Mankotia and the BJP’s chief ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal (Bamsan).
The first phase of polling took place for the three seats of Bharmaur, Lahaul and Spiti and Kinnaur on November 14. Over 68 per cent polling was reported in this phase.
This time, the Congress and the BJP is facing tough competition from the BSP. Besides these three major parties, candidates include nominees from the LJP and one independent. Twelve candidates are in the fray in these three constituencies.
The term of the 68-member State Assembly is till March 9, 2008. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |