Congress releases list of 12 candidates in Gujarat

March 9th, 2009 - 10:27 pm ICT by ANI  

New Delhi, Mar 9 (ANI): The Congress on Monday announced candidates for 12 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat, including Union Ministers Dinsha Patel, Shankersinh Vaghela and Naran Bhai Rathwa.

Union Minister of Textiles Shankarsinh Vaghela will contest from the Panchmahal constituency.

Union Minister of State for Petroleum Dinsha Patel will be contesting from Kheda, while Union Minister of State for Railways Naran Bhai Rathwa will enter into fray from Chota Udepur constituency.

The polls will be held on April 30.

Pradesh Congress Committee President Bharatbhai Solanki will contest from his home constituency Anand, while former Indian Youth Congress President Satyajit Gaekwad has been given the ticket from Vadodara.

The Congress had won 12 of the 26 parliamentary seats from Gujarat during the 2004 Lok Sabha elections.

For Kutch seat, which has been converted into SC reserve after delimitation, the party has fielded local leader Valji Danicha.

The party has also declared candidate for union territory Dadra and Nagar Haveli. Veteran tribal leader and sitting MP Mohan Delkar, who has recently joined the party, has been fielded from here. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |